You Can’t Always Get What You Want (Glee Cast)

Hi.

Yes. The Glee Cast. Get over it.

“You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you just might find you get what you need”

So, the message is pretty clear. Why are we twentysomethings singing this song? Well, this is the time of our lives when we are abandoned to face the fact that we will not get all the things we want. Never again. And now we’re smart, so we know what we want pretty well, so it hurts more when we can’t have it.

We also don’t get the pity we feel we deserve.
It’s painful being denied the things we want, but it’s even more painful when we are denied the sympathy too.

I’ve been abroad the last four months, and this is the fastest my parents were bored of me of all the times I’ve come back. I think even they accepted I grew up. You think your parents will pamper you forever. Well they don’t.

Like all this isn’t enough, I am also failing at a new task, daily. I am dieting and not losing weight. Well, I wasn’t losing weight eating chocolate ice cream and munching on Nutella. I am not losing weight eating freaking chia seeds and yogurt for the life of me. So what’s the point?

Also on my Things I Am Failing At Today List: setting up rehearsals for my band. Our concert is two weeks from now, and one of our band members is incapable of being free at previously-discussed rehearsal times. There’s a reason we decide on dates. Isn’t there now?

Don’t even get me started on the whole non-existing love life of mine. See previous posts.

You know what I want? I want to stay in, and watch movies, and read books, and wake up whenever I want, and eat freaking chocolate ice cream whenever I want. I also want to watch Master Chef Junior. Those kids are adorable.

I want to be excited.
I want to be happy. And JUST happy. I don’t want to be happy, but worried, and anxious and tired and this and that.
JUST happy.
Happy. Full stop.

So there it is. Let’s see what I’ll find.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

