Nice And Easy (Michael Buble)

Hi.

You know when people ask you to describe yourself in one word?
I hate that question.

No one word can describe anyone.

People are complicated; they’re not impossible to figure out, but they’re not one-word-worthy.

They are sentence-worthy. Sub-clause-worthy.

***

Among those words people would describe me would be “friendly”.
“Friendly” would re-occur many times, quite frequently after a “very”.

But I’m not just “friendly”. In fact, once in a while I am not “friendly”.
I’m curious.
Precocious.
I’m determined.
I’m big on my instincts and I trust my prejudices.
It takes me a few minutes, a short exchange and maybe a good joke to tell where people stand. And whether I want to stand next to them.

But you can’t stand next to anyone if they won’t want you there.
Unless you’re a jerk.

There have been so many times in my life that I looked up to people, and wished in my heart to not look up to them, but to look at them.
There is so much to learn in looking up.
But there’s so much joy and confidence in looking at someone, and looking at the distance you’ve come.

But of course these things take time.
And a few tricks.
And the know of people.
The truth is:

“To rush would be a crime,
Nice and easy does it everytime”

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Nice And Easy (Michael Buble)

  1. I find the concept of your blog a novel one; in that you introduce each post with a tune that obviously means something to you abd others would relate to, as opposed to to the usual picture. I really like that.

    As for the concept of not being able to describe oneself in one word.. I agree. People are sentence worthy as you aptly suggested. We have several identities within which various charecteristics transpire. We as humans are complex to be described in just one word. Compund or complex sentences is more like it πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! I am very passionate about music and I write a lot of the things I write listening to music; so this concept has been in my mind for a while now.
      I’m happy to see that people are enjoying it as much as I do!

      Hah! I think us being here on this website, being bloggers, writers, idea-sharers also proves that we need our words (plural!) to describe whatever it is that we are in need of describing.
      People are the most complex being in the whole universe, so it’s almost stupid to reduce them to single words, each of their own.

      Thanks for stopping by, by the way! Very thrilled to read your comment!

      • That’s great. I was wondering reading your posts- does inspiration come from the songs themselves because they evoke a particular emotion or do they inspire you to generally write?

      • It works both ways πŸ™‚
        I always put on music whenever I want to write, something I think would match up the mood I am planning to write in – it helps my flow. Also as I’m listening to music, I get inspired to incorporate the themes in the songs into my writing.
        πŸ™‚

      • In that case, feel free to suggest me new stuff to listen to πŸ™‚ if you feel like it of course.

        Thank you for the follow! Let me know what you think of the future music and musings!

Leave a Reply

